We study behavioural factors that drive individuals’ decisions so we can craft solutions that work in practice, not just in theory. We conduct rigorous, objective and unbiased research on relevant social, economic, political, human resource and social-environmental problems facing the state, region and world.

Our areas of research include:

  1. Impact of Social Security program rules on individuals’ work and retirement decisions
  2. Macroeconomic and financial effects of changes in Social Security policy on national saving, investment, and economic growth
  3. Implication of trends in Social Security, private pensions, and private savings for future retirement income security
  4. Interactions of Social Security with other public and private programs
  5. International research on pension and Social Security issues
  6. Distributional effects of proposed Social Security reforms
  7. Impact of demographic and social change on Social Security

Our researchers are highly committed and experienced faculty members of Faculty of Economics and Administration, Faculty of Business and Accountancy and other institutions of higher education. SSRC welcomes applicants to undertake research in a number of issues relating to Social Security in Malaysia.

Researchers

Abdelhak Senadjki
abdelhak@utar.edu.my

Ahmad Farid bin Osman
faridosman@um.edu.my

Amrul Asraf bin Mohd Any
amrul_asraf@um.edu.my

Fauzi bin Zainir
zfauzi@um.edu.my

Grace Lee Hooi Yean
grace.lee@monash.edu

Halimah Awang
halima@um.edu.my

Kuppusamy A/L Singaravelloo
kuppusamy_s@um.edu.my

Lau Wee Yeap
wylau@um.edu.my

Mario Arturo Ruiz Estrada
marioruiz@um.edu.my

Mohammad Niaz Asadullah
m.niaz@um.edu.my

Muzalwana Abdul Talib @ Abdul Mutalib
wana_am@um.edu.my

Noor Azina Ismail
nazina@um.edu.my

Noor Ismawati Mohd Jaafar
nimj@um.edu.my

Nurhidayah Abdullah
abd_hidayah@um.edu.my

Nurul Shahnaz bt. Ahmad Mahdzan
n_shahnaz@um.edu.my

Roza Hazli Zakaria
roza@um.edu.my

Saidatulakmal Mohd
eieydda@usm.my

Shamsulbahriah Ku Ahmad
sbahriah@um.edu.my

Sharifah Muhairah Shahabudin
muhairah@um.edu.my

Tan Eu Chye
tanec@um.edu.my

Tey Nai Peng
teynp@um.edu.my

Yew Siew Yong
yewsy@um.edu.my

Yong Chen Chen
ccyong@um.edu.my

Yong Sook Lu
yongsl@um.edu.my

Zarinah Yusof
zarinahy@um.edu.my

Members

Balqais Yusoff
balqais@epf.gov.my

Evelyn Shymala a/p Paul Devadason
evelyns@um.edu.my

Farizan Kamaludin
farizan@epf.gov.my

Goh Kim Leng
gohkl@um.edu.my

Hanira Hanafi
hanira_hanafi@um.edu.my

Nurhisham Hussein
nurhisham@epf.gov.my

Nor Iskandar Md. Nor
iskandar@epf.gov.my

Nurhisham Hussein
nurhisham@epf.gov.my

Santha Chenayah Ramu
santha@um.edu.my

VGR Chandran Govindaraju
vgrchandran@um.edu.my