We study behavioural factors that drive individuals’ decisions so we can craft solutions that work in practice, not just in theory. We conduct rigorous, objective and unbiased research on relevant social, economic, political, human resource and social-environmental problems facing the state, region and world.

Our areas of research include:

  1. Impact of Social Security program rules on individuals’ work and retirement decisions
  2. Macroeconomic and financial effects of changes in Social Security policy on national saving, investment, and economic growth
  3. Implication of trends in Social Security, private pensions, and private savings for future retirement income security
  4. Interactions of Social Security with other public and private programs
  5. International research on pension and Social Security issues
  6. Distributional effects of proposed Social Security reforms
  7. Impact of demographic and social change on Social Security

Our researchers are highly committed and experienced faculty members of Faculty of Economics and Administration, Faculty of Business and Accountancy and other institutions of higher education. SSRC welcomes applicants to undertake research in a number of issues relating to Social Security in Malaysia.

Members

Abdelhak Senadjki abdelhak@utar.edu.my
Ahmad Farid bin Osman faridosman@um.edu.my
Amrul Asraf bin Mohd Any amrul_asraf@um.edu.my
Fauzi bin Zainir zfauzi@um.edu.my
Grace Lee Hooi Yean grace.lee@monash.edu
Kuppusamy A/L Singaravelloo kuppusamy_s@um.edu.my
Lau Wee Yeap wylau@um.edu.my
Mario Arturo Ruiz Estrada marioruiz@um.edu.my
Mohammad Niaz Asadullah m.niaz@um.edu.my
Muzalwana Abdul Talib @ Abdul Mutalib wana_am@um.edu.my
Noor Azina Ismail nazina@um.edu.my
Nurul Shahnaz bt. Ahmad Mahdzan n_shahnaz@um.edu.my
Roza Hazli Zakaria roza@um.edu.my
Saidatulakmal Mohd eieydda@usm.my
Shamsulbahriah Ku Ahmad sbahriah@um.edu.my
Tan Eu Chye tanec@um.edu.my
Tey Nai Peng teynp@um.edu.my
Yew Siew Yong yewsy@um.edu.my
Yong Chen Chen ccyong@um.edu.my
Yong Sook Lu yongsl@um.edu.my
Zarinah Yusof zarinahy@um.edu.my

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Balqais Yusoff balqais@epf.gov.my
Evelyn Shymala a/p Paul Devadason evelyns@um.edu.my
Farizan Kamaludin farizan@epf.gov.my
Goh Kim Leng gohkl@um.edu.my
Hanira Hanafi hanira_hanafi@um.edu.my
Nurhisham Hussein nurhisham@epf.gov.my
Nor Iskandar Md. Nor iskandar@epf.gov.my
Santha Chenayah Ramu santha@um.edu.my
VGR Chandran Govindaraju vgrchandran@um.edu.my